Honor Society

Alpha Sigma Lambda Honor Society

Alpha Sigma Lambda 2019 inductees
Alpha Sigma Lambda 2019 inductees. From left to right Teresa Williams, Timothy Sullivan, Irina Popov, Denny Langford and Chevon Janczuk.

Alpha Sigma Lambda is the nation’s largest and oldest chapter-based honor society for nontraditional students. The Society was founded in 1945-46 and today has more than 300 institutional chapters. The Syracuse University chapter is the Beta Delta Chapter and was established in 1977.

Alpha Sigma Lambda’s aim is to recognize the special achievements of adults who accomplish academic excellence while facing competing interests of home and work. Alpha Sigma Lambda is dedicated to the advancement of scholarship and recognizes high scholastic achievement in an adult student’s career. By so doing, this Society encourages many students to continue toward and to earn associate and bachelor’s degrees.


To be considered for membership a candidate must be matriculated and have completed a minimum of 24 credit hours and represent the top twenty percent of the class, with a minimum grade point index of 3.2 on a 4.0 scale.

Alpha Sigma Lambda  Scholarships

The national chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda awards scholarships annually. Learn more about the scholarship application process. You may also visit the national Alpha Sigma Lambda web site at www.alphasigmalambda.org for additional details.

Learn more about the Alpha Sigma Lambda scholarship 

Officers for SU’s Beta Delta Chapter are:

  • Andrea Willis, president
  • Maria Borte, vice president
  • Darlene Carelli, secretary
  • Rosemary Kelly, councilor

The following students will be recognized in the April 6th, 2023 Honors Reception ceremony:

  • Eric Tremblay, Cybersecurity Administration, B.P.S.
  • Guy George, Liberal Studies, B.S.
  • Jesus Adkins, Bachelor of Science Liberal Studies, B.S.
  • Lauren Roberts, Knowledge Management, B.P.S.
  • Lynn Post, Liberal Arts, A.A.
  • Jonathon Campbell, Creative Leadership, B.P.S.
  • Lorri O’Dell, Liberal Studies, B.S.
  • Mackenzie Anderson, Mechanical Engineering, B.S.
  • Maxamillian Crawford, Cybersecurity Administration, B.P.S.
  • Rodney Brooks, Liberal Arts, A.A.
  • Ryan Fishman, Liberal Studies, B.S.